Casting Call for The Polar Express

Casting Call for The Polar Express

The National Railroad Museum, under license from Rail Events/Warner Bros., seeks volunteers to present an interactive production based on the book and film The Polar Express. This 45-minute live production takes places aboard the Museum’s slow-moving train. There are 5 train cars per performance, and 4 cast members are needed on each train car.

Seeking volunteers for the following roles:

Conductor: Male identified, any ethnicity, ability to interact well with public and have improvisational skills. Simple singing required. 45-minute role.

Steward: All genders and ethnicities, authoritative, outgoing, team player, improvisational skills a plus. Simple singing required. 45-minute role.

Hobo: Male identified, any ethnicity, high-energy, assertive, gruff, strong voiced. Non-singer. 10-minute role.

Lost Ticket Girl: Female identified, any ethnicity, aged 12-25 or anyone with a youthful appearance, charming, outgoing, ability to interact with the public. Simple singing required. 5-minute role.

Acting experience is not required for any of the roles and volunteers are not required to memorize the script. All roles are volunteer roles and are an opportunity to interact with the public. There is no specialized costuming. This is a great opportunity for a complete family unit to volunteer together. We welcome a diverse cast and people of all abilities.

For more information about The Polar Express Train Ride at the National Railroad Museum, please click here.

Script

To read the script for The Polar Express, please click here.

Open House Information Dates

Open House nights allow all interested parties to learn more about the event. If you would like to participate in the production, please attend one of the following Open Houses.

  • Thursday, September 15: 5:30-7:00 p.m.
  • Thursday, September 29: 5:30-7:00 p.m.

Please click here to sign up for one of our Open House nights. If you cannot make it either of these nights and are still interested in volunteering, please contact Megan Blackburn, Member and Volunteer Coordinator, at mblackburn@nationalrrmuseum.org.

Rehearsal Dates

Rehearsals take place on the following nights from 5:30-6:30 p.m. There are eight nights of rehearsals, but it is required for you to attend a minimum of three rehearsal nights of your choosing and the Dress Rehearsal. Attendance through Zoom will be available.

  • Thursday, October 6
  • Tuesday, October 11
  • Thursday, October 20
  • Tuesday, October 25
  • Thursday, November 3
  • Tuesday, November 8
  • Monday, November 14
  • Thursday, November 17 (Dress Rehearsal)

Performance Dates

Actors are asked to commit to full days whenever possible, but you don’t have to attend every day of performances. You will be able to sign up for performance dates. We would love to have you at every performance, but we understand that schedules can be difficult. Meals are provided.

  • Friday, November 18: 4, 6, 8 p.m.
  • Saturday, November 19: 2, 4, 6, 8 p.m.
  • Sunday, November 20: 4, 6, 8 p.m.
  • Friday, November 25: 4, 6, 8 p.m.
  • Saturday, November 26: 2, 4, 6, 8 p.m.
  • Sunday, November 27: 4, 6, 8 p.m.
  • Friday, December 2: 4, 6, 8 p.m.
  • Saturday, December 3: 2, 4, 6, 8 p.m.
  • Sunday, December 4: 4, 6, 8 p.m.
  • Friday, December 9: 4, 6, 8 p.m.
  • Saturday, December 10: 2, 4, 6, 8 p.m.
  • Sunday, December 11: 4, 6, 8 p.m.

Contact Us

Megan Blackburn, Member & Volunteer Coordinator: (920) 437-7623, ext. 124 or mblackburn@nationalrrmuseum.org